International Symposium on Future Software Technology 2002

Updated: Thu Sep 12 15:00:00 JST 2002 / Notice fonts and Xian Tutorial staff
Tue Aug 13 19:34:23 JST 2002 / Photo copy submission address unified.
                     Call for Papers
		(Version 3.5, prepared by SEA Office)


   International Symposium on Future Software Technology 2002

    October 20-21, 2002 in Xi'an (Pre-Symposium Tutorials)
         October 23-25, 2002 in Wuhan (Symposium)

                     Co-sponsored by

            Software Engineers Association (Japan)
    UNU International Institute for Software Technology (Macau)
             Northwest University (Xi'an, China)
    Huazhong University of Science and Technology (Wuhan, China)


ISFST2002 is the 7th International Symposium on Future Software

The previous six symposia in this series were successfully held
in China since 1996.  The series have been  co-organized by SEA
(Software Engineers Association) of Japan, UNU/IIST (International
Institute of Software Technology of United Nations University),
and the local host academic organizations.

This year, Northwest University (NWU) in Xi'an and Huazhong
University of Science and Technology (HUST) in Wuhan will be
our host.

The purpose of the Symposium is to review the recent progresses
in software technology, to exchange various technical and business
information, and to promote the sound industry-academia cooperation
for future. It will provide a unique opportunity for practitioners,
researchers and educators in software community to gather latest
information and discuss the advances and the trends in the field.
Program committee is looking forward to receive your submission of
research papers, experience reports, and tool demonstrations
related to the following topics.


Suggested topics include, but are not limited to:

	Computer Human Interaction
	Data Mining and Knowledge Discivery
	Distributed Computing
	Formal Methods
	Internet Security
	IT Industry Experiences
	Knowledge and Data Engineering
	Mobile and Multi Agent Systems
	New Application Technologies
	New Application Domain (e.g.: eCommerce)
	Product Line Engineering
	Process and Project Management
	Requirement Engineering
	Software Development Paradigm (e.g.: Open Source)
	System Evolution and Maintenance
	Testing and Quality Management
	Web-based Information Systems

The unique feature of the ISFST symposia is that the program
includes informal but intensive working group style discussion
sessions besides ordinary-style paper presentations. Industry
people are encouraged to propose  demonstration of tools
instead of submitting regular papers.

Also, this year's ISFST will feature pre-symposium tutorials.
Those tutorials will be held in Xi'an, and the symposium will be
held in Wuhan. Proposals for various topics are welcome.

Both cities have unique historical background and culture.  So,
the attendees will be able to enjoy different atmosphere of
these two cities.

Paper Submission:

Submissions for a full paper or an extended abstract should be
received no later than July 13, 2002 by one of the Program
          Kazunori Shioya (SRA-KTL, Japan)
          Soo-Yong Park (Sogang Univ., Korea)
          Yanxiang He (Wuhan Univ.,China)

Paper Submission Addresses:
          Mr. Kazunori Shioya
          SRA-KTL, Japan
                  Email :

Paper submissions should contain the type of the submission (Full
[5000 words] or extended-abstract [1500 words]), title, author
names and their affiliation and address, abstract, list of keywords,
followed by the text.

Tool demo submission should contain the name of the tool, author
names and their affiliation and addresses, list of keywords, followed
by the text describe tool function.

Tutorial proposal should contain name and contact information of the
proposer, the title of tutorial, purpose and scope, duration (full- or
half-day), and summary of topics to be covered.

Only electronic submission in PDF, portable Postscript, or Word format
via e-mail will be accepted.

Note: The paper should be written in english only.
	Helvetica and Time Roman fonts olny.

Important Dates:

            New Submission deadline:      July 13, 2002   *CLOSED*
            Notification of acceptance:   August 15, 2002 *NOTICED*
            Final paper due:              September 30, 2002

Paper selection will be based on originality and contribution
to the topics. Papers are reviewed formally by more than two PC members 
and will be judged at the PC meeting on early August.

SEA, Japan will publish the symposium proceedings with ISBN number in CDROM
after the symposium by compiling the papers accepted and presented 
at the symposium, and the summary report of working group discussions, 

ISFST2002 Staffs

     Honorary Co-Chairs

          Huowang Chen (National Univ. of Defense Technology, China)
          Toshiharu Yamasaki (Former Chairman of SEA, Japan)

     Organizational Co-Chairs:

          Hiroyuki Fukase (Chairman of SEA, Japan)
          Kegang Hao (Northwest Univ., China)
          Guohui Li (HUST, China)

     General Co-Chairs:

          Akira Kumagai (PFU, Japan)
          Yunsheng Liu(HUST, China).

     Program Co-Chairs:

          Kazunori Shioya (SRA-KTL, Japan)
          Soo-Yong Park (Sogang Univ., Korea)
          Yanxiang He (Wuhan Univ.,China)

     Program Committee Members:

	Keijiro Araki (Kyushu Univ., Japan)
	Doo-Hwan Bae (KAIST, Korea)
	Doo-Kwon Baik (Korea Univ., Korea)
	Daoxu Chen (Nanjing Univ., China)
	Zhiguo Chen (Henan Univ., China)
	Guozhong Dai (IS-CAS, China)
	Shihai Dong (Peking Univ., China)
	Ming Fan (ZhengZhou Univ., China)
	Hyuk-Soo Han (SangMyung Univ., Korea)
	Jinpeng Huai (BUAA, China)
	Chris George (UNU/IIST, Macau)
	Yuqing Gu (ASTI Beijing, China)
	Jiang Guo (California State Univ., USA)
	Hoh Peter In (Texas A&M Univ., USA)
	Masao Ito (Nil Software, Japan)
	Dehua Ju (ASTI Shanghai, China)
	Kyo C. Kang (POSTECH, Korea)
	Kiwamu Kase (RIKEN, japan)
	Gargi Keeni (TCS, India)
	Jung-Ah Kim (KwanDong Univ., Korea)
	Chang-Hwa Kim (KangNung National Univ., Korea)
	Yue-Sun Kuo (Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
	Kei Kurakawa (NAIST, Japan)
	Danning Li (Guizhou Academy of Sciences, China)
	Yoshitaka Matsumura (SRA-KTL, Japan)
	Deependra Moitra (Lucent Technologies, India)
	Hideo Nakano (Osaka City Univ., Japan)
	Takamasa Nara (Hitachi S&S, Japan)
	Toshitsugu Nomura (JIPS, Japan)
	Young-Bae Oh (SuWon Women's College, Korea)
	Soo-Hyun Park (KookMin Univ., Korea)
	Wanchai Rivepiboon (Chulalongkorn Univ., Thailand)
	Beijun Shen (ECUST, China)
	Tetsuo Tamai (Univ. of Tokyo, Japan)
	Jiro Tanaka (Univ. of Tsukuba, Japan)
	Hae-Sool Yang (HoSeo Univ., Korea)
	Chenqing Ye (Zhejiang Univ., China)
	Jinyuan You (Shanghai Jiao Tong Univ., China)
	Mingyi Zhang (Guizhou Academy of Sciences, China)
	Songmao Zhang (IM-CAS, China)
	Zhizhuo Zhao (Xiamen Univ., China)
	Xichang Zhong (SEC-CAS, China)
	Youliang Zhong (Hypersoft, Australia)
	Zhiying Zhou (Tsinghua Univ., China)

     Xi'an Tutorial staff:

	Yunwei Dong (Xian Synchrobit, Xian)
	Gong Xiaoqing (Northwest University, Xian)

     Symposium Secretary:

          Rongrong Li(HUST, China)
          Kouichi Kishida (SEA, Japan)